The Hamburg Alumni Foundation will honor the following inductees at the 2019 Wall of Fame Ceremony on Saturday, September 28, 2019 at Michael’s Catering & Banquets, 4885 Southwestern Boulevard beginning at 5:30 p.m.    

Sports Legends 

William McClelland, Class of 1936

Lyneve Lauria, Class of 1994

Danielle Hover, Class of 2007

Casey Derkacz, Class of 2007 

Will Cole, Class of 2009

Joe Whalen, Class of 2009

Team of Distinction 

1976 Section VI – Division II Championship Football Team

Distinguished Alumni 

Richard Aquila, Class of 1964

Robert Fleming, Class of 1968

Joan Calkins, MD, Class of 1971

Doug Smith, Class of 1976

Beth Moses, Class of 1984

Distinguished Educators 

Charles Teague

Jim Cleveland

HHS Graduate and Channel 2 Sportscaster Heather Prusak will serve as the Master of Ceremonies.  Tickets, which include dinner, are $35 for adults, $20 for children 12 and under and are available at Lockwood’s Greenhouse and J.P. Fitzgerald’s beginning September 1st.  Join us in recognizing favorite teachers, former classmates, friends and athletes from “the glory years.”  Anyone is welcome. If you are not able to attend the event, but would like to be an ad sponsor or make a donation, please contact Scott Obenshain at scottobenshain@yahoo.com.  


The Wall of Fame Committee accepts nominations throughout the year, with a deadline of May 1st for the following September event.   Criteria for each category includes:

Distinguished Alumni

The Distinguished Alumni Award honors Hamburg High School alumni who have achieved outstanding success in their chosen careers, have made outstanding contributions to the community, country or society, and who have a reputation that serves as a positive example to Hamburg High School students

 Distinguished Teacher/Educator

The Distinguished Alumni Teacher Award will honor educators who have a history of outstanding contributions to the Hamburg Central School District, which includes the ability to inspire, promote and sustain the intellectual development of students, demonstrate scholarly/professional contributions that foster critical thinking and challenge students to independent inquiry, and have advised/mentored students both in and outside the classroom.

Sports Legends

Any former Hamburg Athlete (should have been graduated from Hamburg for at least 10 years), coach or athletic director is eligible for nomination.  In addition to individual inductees, the Foundation will honor a “Team of Distinction.”  Teams eligible for this honor should have at least 10 years after the completion of their season.  Teams considered for the award have won a conference, sectional or state championship, or been undefeated over the course of their season, or considered to be one of the “very best Hamburg teams ever” in their respective sports.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title="" rel=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>