Boy's Golf Dynasty of Teams Team of Distinction, 1988 - 1999


Team of Distinction

Boy’s Golf Dynasty of Teams, 1988 – 1999 

The Hamburg Boy’s Golf teams dominated Western New York for twelve consecutive years, coached by Hamburg Wall of Famer, Jim Henneberg. In the twelve-year stretch the Bulldogs won or shared 12 consecutive division championships, and only losing 3 matches, which is an astounding 97% winning percentage! Several team records were made and broken during the streak, including the team scoring- individual match total team scoring of +4 over par for 72 holes, and the individual match school record, set by Kris Cappuzzo, of -3 under for 12 holes. This school record along with Cappuzzo winning the NYS golf champion, helped launch his induction into the Hamburg Wall of Fame in 2012. In total, there were 50 boys who were members of these twelve teams, and many of them have gone on to careers in the golfing industry.  The talent level was so deep that some of the most difficult competitions came in the playoffs for starting positions among the team! That dilemma was solved by Coach Henneberg, who scheduled two opponents on the same day and devised a split squad strategy, which allowed more players to compete without sacrificing a drop in the quality of play. Many team members remain friends and look forward to teeing it up with former teammates. Golf remains one of the “lifetime sports” which can be played for decades after graduation, combining a blend of mental and physical ability, and is one of the few sports which requires a competitor to self-enforce the rules. Our Hamburg golfers displayed this high level of integrity both on and off the course.

Hamburg Boy’s Golf Teams 1988-1999 Coach: James Henneberg 

Team Members: Brian Andrea Luke MacDonald Jason Ansuini Brian McElwain Rob Black Rob McElwain Adam Boland Colin Maher Jon Boland Mike Measer Pat Bowman Derek Nicholas Kris Cappuzzo   Mike Pallotta Joe Centrich Paul Peccia Tim Claret’ Jason Polisoto Mike Cohoon Jeff Rapini Chad Collins Mike Rapini Kevin Devine Jason Ruh Dave Dunn Craig Saundres Kevin Edson Andy Sheffield Brad Fischer Mark Szarowicz Mike Frydrych Mike Szarowicz Ryan Gannon Chris Thuman Jason Geiger Doug Wagner Joe Gervase Brad Weaver PJ Hoak Jacob Werner Chad Hoisek Dave Will Todd Hoisek Tim Will Jim Jordan Gene Williams Joel Kenyon Andy Zemrac Jeff Kummer Bill Zoeller 


Boy's Golf Dynasty of Teams Team of Distinction, 1988 - 1999